Demolition Material

A dumpster is located at the Landfill site to collect demolition debris from county residents. This debris is then hauled to the county and state-permitted Clay Demolition Debris Landfill for disposal and/or recycling. 

Clay Demolition Debris Landfill
The Clay Demolition Debris Landfill, privately owned and operated, is the only county-permitted demolition landfill. It is located in Section 3 of Riverton Township, 6 miles west of Hawley and 1/4 mile north off U.S. Highway 10. 

The permitted landfill area covers 17.8 acres, with a 250,000-cubic-yard capacity, and receives about 400 loads of debris annually. The demolition landfill’s conditional use permit allows the disposal of inert building and other structural waste materials and rubble. The landfill is Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) approved and meets State statutes and rules.

Call Disposal Services, Inc., Wahpeton, North Dakota at 701-642-1799; or onsite at 218-498-2430, for more information.
Unacceptable Demolition Waste
  • Animal carcasses
  • Animal manure
  • Asbestos
  • Hazardous waste, including:Household garbage
    • Corrosives
    • Ignitables
    • Reactives
    • Toxins
  • Infectious wastes from hospitals and nursing homes
  • Large quantities of fly ash or soluble waste
  • Lead acid batteries
  • Liquids (other than household quantities)
  • Septic tank pumping
  • Sludges
  • Televisions and microwaves
  • Unrinsed pesticide containers
  • Waste grain, seed, or elevator screenings
  • Waste oil

Acceptable Demolition Waste

  • All demolition debris from old structures
  • Concrete and bituminous
  • New construction materials, such as:
    • Glass
    • Insulation
    • Masonry
    • Metals
    • Paper
    • Plastic
    • Plywood
    • Sheetrock
    • Shingles
    • Wood
  • Roofing material (old and new)